May 10, 2010

Medical File Transfer Fees?!

Posted in Uncategorized tagged at 10:13 am by CrystalineGoddess

I got a call today; my daughter’s old pediatrician closed her practice (Dr. V. Winters in Lindsay, ON). What gets me is that they want me to pay  $75 for my daughter’s medical file(!), at which point they will either send it to me or her new pediatrician. WHO HAS $75 JUST LAYING AROUND?! Certainly NOT me! And what of those who are on disability or social assistance?! If your new doctor doesn’t have the files already and you can’t afford them you have to start from scratch! I am outraged! How is it our responsibility to cover the costs of her retirement?! And apparently this usually costs MORE!

So for those of you suffering the same fate as me, the number to call, should you decide to oblige these, uh… I’d better not say, is 1 888 563 3732.

Leave a Reply

